Woooaaah, Marian!

OK, not linguistic at all, but definitely Somerset based!  You may have noticed that a lot of my posts have been Exmoor based recently, but that’s because I’m currently concentrating on West Somerset for my research at the moment.

One of the things I’d forgotten was this absolute gem from my childhood, filmed on Exmoor National Park, specifically woods just outside of Minehead, and Cleeve Abbey at Washford.  I’m sure there are many others my age who remember Maid Marian and her Merry Men with great fondness, and even better, it’s incredibly silly sense of humour hasn’t aged, even if the production values and incidental music have slightly.

So if you have half an hour, and possibly also some children to appease, why not sit back and watch this first episode, and see how many of the words you remember to the theme tune:

As an extra bonus, it also has snippets of Andy Peters in the Broom Cupboard interviewing Tony Robinson.  Oh 80’s telly.  They don’t make it like that any more!

3 thoughts on “Woooaaah, Marian!

  1. I’ve just stumbled across your blog (loving it!) and had to share an anecdote when I saw this post. I’ve recently moved to Somerset but I used to work in a bookshop in London and Maid Marion, aka Kate Lonergan, used to come in sometimes – took me right back to the good old days when kids TV managed to be educational and political as well as fun!

    1. I don’t watch too much kids TV these days, but I think the 1st Horrible Histories crowd were the same sort of genius as Maid Marian! Educational, non-patronising and most importantly, funny!

Leave a Reply

