Billy-Bakers

I have to confess, this one is a new one on me.  I have Emma Tett, a reader of this blog (and published author), to thank for this one!

Despite having grown up in Somerset, I have never heard ‘Billy Baker’ as the name for woodlice.  I’ve heard ‘Pill-bug’, I’ve heard ‘Doodlebug’ (although that one is more commonly associated with a WW2 bomb), I’ve heard ‘Roly-Polys’ and I’ve heard Cheese-logs, but never ‘Billy-Baker’.  And I kind of love it!

In Devon, and apparently in part of what is now North Somerset, they are ‘Chuggy Pigs’.  ‘Billy-Baker’ seems to be a South Somerset term, although I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s crawled (pardon the pun) out to other areas.  This blogpost here, which I think is from someone living in Dorset, but it’s a little unclear, mentions how her neighbour Bill from across the road calls them ‘Billy-Bakers’.  Whether Bill is a native Dorsetman, or someone who has moved over from Somerset is a matter for some speculation of course.

This Tweet mentions it perhaps being exclusive to Stoke-sub-Hamdon:

However, from a reply to the same Twitter profile which went on to discuss woodlice, we then got this claim that the name is used in Warrington, in Cheshire:

So you have to wonder where the name came from.  Was @Talkloads’ friend originally from Warrington?  Were their parents originally from Somerset?  Had they spent a considerable amount of time in Somerset and picked it up there?

This all opens up a discussion about language contact, which is essentially what my PhD is about, but let’s not forget the important thing: who was Billy Baker, and what connection did he have to woodlice……?  😉

Any thoughts?

Image Credit: “Woodlouse” by Roo Reynolds is licensed under CC BY 2.0

3 thoughts on “Billy-Bakers

  1. Hi, I must admit never heard of them being called ‘billy bakers’, but I can remember that at home years ago we called them ‘billy buttons’, whether that was just us or whether anyone else called them that I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

